Archive for February 17th, 2012

Huh? Liberty?

I love this post by Ace yesterday. In it he talks about how pissed off he is by the things he doesn’t even think about anymore because, well, they’re against the law, so of course he wouldn’t do it.

grew up on the East Coast. For a while, I lived in California.

I was blown away to learn that people could just start bonfires on the beach, whenever they liked.
………..Then I started to think like this: What kind of a mind-screw did they do on me when I should be surprised that people would be allowed to do this?

I remember when I first moved to CA being surprised that no one owned the beaches and we could just use them! I remember hiking with a friend who had a flipping cow because we wanted to see what was over that knoll but there wasn’t a trail, and I just walked there, without a trail! [no, this was not an alpine meadow or a switchback shortcut]

We get immune over time to “the rules”. He mentions regulations. I can’t tell you how many business I’ve had in my head over time that go by the wayside because….”what a pain it would be”….well, that and frankly I’m pretty lazy, but still.

The contraception mandate debate has changed the narrative. We’re no longer talking about
“the mandate to buy insurance”, or even
“the mandate for insurers to give out free birth control including abortificants”,
but
whether or not a hospital should be treated like a church.
Or
how a federal mandate in requirements for insurers are any different than state ones.

Say what?
Why the hell can’t a person buy whatever type of insurance he/she wants that’s available from businesses who offer the entire range of versions that they care to sell to anyone across all the state lines?
Seriously. Who does it hurt?
Hospitals? Because they are required to see all the sick. Then fix that problem.

It was very tricky the way the whole narrative was stolen. Hopefully the Supreme Court is just as clever and can remember all of this come March when it’s discussing just one bit of Obamacare.

Go read Ace’s column. It’s a nice reminder of how the rules have played with our heads.


RSS Feed

Categories

February 2012
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829